Dark-mode icon for Slack

Josh Munn
3 min readJan 15, 2020

--

It’s safe to say I’m a big fan of dark mode. If an app has it, I’m using it. I wake up at 5:30am most mornings. So, if I can, I try to avoid being blinded by the light of a thousand suns.

As you’re probably aware, Slack recently introduced dark-mode across all of its platforms and it’s great. However, by default, the icon used on both Mac and Android is a bright white circle, AKA light mode. This may not seem like a big deal, but it irks me all the same. So… here is a quick fix.

Step 1

Right-click the PNG image below and save it to your computer. It looks pixelated at a larger scale, but trust me, it will look clear and crisp in your Mac-OS dock at a smaller scale.

Step 2

Navigate to your applications folder, right-click the Slack application and click ‘Get info’. A new window will pop-up that looks like the one in the image below.

Step 3

Find the PNG image you saved in ‘Step 1’ and open it in Preview. This may seem like an unusual way to change the icon, but I have found it works best for me.

Step 4

In the preview menu at the top of the page, click ‘Edit’, then click ‘Copy’.

Step 5

Finally, in the ‘Get info’ window, click the icon in the top left corner so it’s highlighted blue and then paste the icon you just copied by pressing Command+V.

Ta-da!

The Slack icon is now dark and all is right with the world. I realise there may be faster ways of achieving this task, so feel free to post a more efficient method in the comments section below.

Thanks for reading. Enjoy!

--

--

Josh Munn

A creative with unique skills across digital & industrial design, passionate about inclusivity & sustainability — www.joshmunn.com